Canada: New Visa Requirements For Citizens Of Mexico, Brazil, Bulgaria And Romania

Canada: New Visa Requirements

Canada: New Visa Requirements , To qualify as TRV-exempt travellers, citizens from Mexico, Brazil, Bulgaria and Romania must have held a TRV in the last 10 years or hold a valid US non-immigration visa. A TRV is an official document issued by a Canadian visa office that is affixed in the foreign traveller's passport to show that he or she has met the requirements for admission to Canada as a visitor. A US non-immigrant visa is an official document affixed in the foreign traveller's passport that permits such traveller to travel to the United States during the validity of the visa on a temporary basis (i.e., tourism, medical treatment, business, temporary work, or study).

These travellers will need to fill out the electronic travel authorization (eTA) prior to entering Canada by air. Visitors coming by land or sea will not need an eTA but must travel with proper identification, such as a valid passport and permanent residency card, if applicable.

Citizens from Mexico, Brazil, Bulgaria and Romania who have not held a Canadian TRV in the last 10 years or do not hold a valid US non-immigration visa do not qualify as visa-exempt travellers. Therefore, they must obtain a TRV at a Canadian visa office prior to entering Canada.

Also starting on March 15, 2016, all citizens from TRV-exempt countries must have an eTA before entering Canada by air. Citizens from the United States are exempt from the eTA program and they do not need to submit an eTA application prior to entering Canada. Visa-exempt countries include France, Britain, Germany, Spain, Italy, Switzerland, Australia, New Zealand, Japan and Korea. A complete list of countries


To learn more about the eTA and its requirements, "New requirements for foreign nationals entering Canada."

The author wishes to thank Viviane Albuquerque, student-at-law, for her help in preparing this legal update.

Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP

Norton Rose Fulbright is a global legal practice. We provide the world's pre-eminent corporations and financial institutions with a full business law service. We have more than 3800 lawyers based in over 50 cities across Europe, the United States, Canada, Latin America, Asia, Australia, Africa, the Middle East and Central Asia.

Recognized for our industry focus, we are strong across all the key industry sectors: financial institutions; energy; infrastructure, mining and commodities; transport; technology and innovation; and life sciences and healthcare.

Wherever we are, we operate in accordance with our global business principles of quality, unity and integrity. We aim to provide the highest possible standard of legal service in each of our offices and to maintain that level of quality at every point of contact.

Norton Rose Fulbright LLP, Norton Rose Fulbright Australia, Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP, Norton Rose Fulbright South Africa (incorporated as Deneys Reitz Inc) and Fulbright & Jaworski LLP, each of which is a separate legal entity, are members ('the Norton Rose Fulbright members') of Norton Rose Fulbright Verein, a Swiss Verein. Norton Rose Fulbright Verein helps coordinate the activities of the Norton Rose Fulbright members but does not itself provide legal services to clients.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.


More than a law firm, to become an essential support to any and all foreigners that wish to take advantage of the legal, economic and fiscal advantages that Panama has to offer; by providing integral legal advice and a business plan to aid in reaching your goals and objectives, always working within the legal frame work and respecting the norms and best practices on a national and international level.

Contact Us

Please enter your name.
Please enter a valid phone number.
Please enter a message.
Please check the captcha to verify you are not a robot.